Enter Your ZIP To See How Much You Could Be Saving

National Scholarship Essay Contest

2018 Scholarship Winner:  Taylor Longmire, Wake Forest University

ElectricityMatch is pleased to announce its scholarship essay contest. The essay winner selected will receive a $1,000 scholarship. ElectricityMatch is dedicated to the communities it serves. We are proud to offer an academic collegiate scholarship for high school seniors or current college students who have ideas to share on home energy matters. Our website is dedicated to helping consumers in places like Dallas save on electricity rates.


Who is Eligible:

To be eligible, applicants must be U.S. citizens or documented legal residents. Applicants must be high school seniors or students currently enrolled in an accredited American university or college attending for the 2018-2019 academic school year. Students must be enrolled full-time and have a minimum of a 2.75 GPA on a 4.0 unweighted scale.

How To Enter:

Any student who fits the eligibility requirements listed above can apply for the ElectricityMatch scholarship. To enter student must submit an essay with no more than 700 words on the following topic:
The electricity flowing into our homes is viewed in terms of what it does for us. It is air conditioning, lighting, and the invisible stuff that powers our electronics. How would you encourage energy conservation without consumers viewing it as sacrificing comfort?

To submit, email your essay as an attachment in PDF or Word format, including your full name, school you will be attending and contact information to scholarship@electricitymatch.com

Deadline for Submission:

The essay submission deadline is 12:00 a.m. EDT May 31 2018. Essays will then be reviewed by an independent scholarship selection committee and the winner will be announced on the ElectricityMatch website on July 15th. The winner will also be notified via email.

Selection Process and Notification:

ElectricityMatch will select an independent scholarship selection committee to review all essays received and one winner will be chosen for the academic school year. Once the winner has been determined, the winner will be announced on the ElectricityMatch website. ElectricityMatch will also notify the winner via email. Students don’t necessarily have to desire to work for an electric company but they should be interested in the industry and shaping consumer interactions.

Additional Details:

The scholarship funds awarded are to be used for tuition and fees only. Once awarded, a check will be written to the recipient’s school of choice and credited for academic costs. The scholarship is non-renewable and is only good for one semester cycle. Recipients are only eligible to receive the scholarship once during their lifetime.

Incomplete applications or applications with materials included in separate emails will not be considered.


Any questions about the scholarship essay contest can be directed to scholarship@electricitymatch.com

Past Winners:

2018 – Taylor Longmire – Wake Forest University

2017 – Samuel Deadrick – Arizona State University

2016 – Priya Manjaly – Boston University

Customer Reviews